Flux

March 17, 2014 § 15 Comments

DSC_0009

~

Ants build great empires

Spiders weave skeins of deceit-

Dead wood brings new life

~

PS. Just to let you all know that this has probably not turned into a haiku blog! I still intend to publish short stories and flash fiction, but the haiku just keep coming. For now. 🙂

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 15 Responses to Flux

  • I love it 🙂
    Haiku is quite addictive once you start isnt it…..I end up posting them quite a lot now…by accident!

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thank you. I noticed you seem to like them too! They are addictive – but more – they are wonderful for capturing a moment of mindfulness! 🙂

  • I’m really struck by the idea of dead wood bringing new life. You have captured something powerful and raw.
    Sent from my BlackBerry smartphone from Virgin Media

  • haridasgowra says:

    cute…………..post……#wordpress1

  • Miranda Stone says:

    You have to go where the Muse takes you, Rachael, and right now your Muse wants you to write haiku! This one, to me, perfectly illustrates how a haiku should be. I love the skeins of deceit the spiders weave. Such bustling activity in the dead wood. Fantastic writing, Rachael.

  • Rachael Charmley says:

    Thank you. The insects were all there just waiting to be talked about!

  • Inspiration can take many forms, keep writing! The photo complements your haiku. 🙂

  • Rachael Charmley says:

    And so it does – one of the reasons it’s so liberating! And thank you for the compliment. 🙂

  • there is something very magical about those 17 syllables, a state of being, an appreciation of the now, of precious moments…i could read your Haiku for hours Rachael. i found myself seeing Haiku everywhere for a few eels in December, i simply let the words take me where they wanted.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Yes – composing haiku, for me, seems an extraordinary process, yet deeply embedded in my everyday life. Writing stories, which is what I normally do, is an intense, quite stressful, full-on process, but haiku is totally not. I sit regularly in meditation, and this has helped me appreciate each moment much more easily. It was after a few months of fairly long sitting that the haiku started to come.
      I wonder what the significance/symbolism is of fifteen syllables (and the other forms). I shall check it out.
      PS. So pleased you’re enjoying my efforts.

  • a few **weeks**, sorry lol

  • SirenaTales says:

    Agree with whocouldknowthen-I am captivated by these lovely haiku! How intriguing, although not too surprising, to hear that these gems have been flowing (partly) from your meditating practice. Lovely all ’round. Thank you. Xo

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Flux at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

