Spinning

April 3, 2014 § 10 Comments

Image

Sleepwalking through life

we dream

as the planet spins –

but it goes nowhere

~

Tagged: , ,

§ 10 Responses to Spinning

  • mikesteeden says:

    Just about summed me up then! Fine words – yet then I never expected otherwise.

  • Rachael Charmley says:

    Thanks, Mike. I don’t call that amazing poetry you write sleepwalking…
    Sorry I don’t give you the thumbs up as much as I used to, but your writing still makes me laugh out loud!

  • Oh yes my friend, sleepwalking through life indeed. Stunning words as always..

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thank you. I suppose I mean it as a reminder to myself to try and be more mindful: like not getting in a temper because I can’t get the chain back on my bike 🙂

  • Powerful stuff. One wonders at times though, whether or not the dream isn’t the best part of living.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Yes. And who is to say which is ‘real’? It surely is that ‘dream world’ (aka our inner life) that drives the creative force 🙂

  • SirenaTales says:

    Stunning–words and image. I need to chew on this for awhile. Thank you for the inspiration.

  • Rachael Charmley says:

    Thank you. I think it’s a chewy sort of haiku and I don’t quite understand it either. I suspect that, according to the rules, it’s a bit rubbish. But who cares… 🙂

  • Miranda Stone says:

    I think I interpreted this haiku a bit differently from others. (But I am known for this. One of my English professors told us to analyze a poem–any poem–of our choosing. I found a beautiful poem in a contemporary poetry journal, and I wrote an essay about its construction and form, and the way I interpreted it. My professor returned my essay with the following note: “I don’t think this poem means what you think it means.”) Anyway, I feel like your recent reading of Zen tomes has influenced this a bit. Zen and Buddhism as a whole encourage us to “wake up” and truly see our surroundings, being aware as we live in the present. Too often we dwell in the past or focus on the future yet to come. This haiku also seems Zen-like in urging us not to wander through life as sleepwalkers while the world goes on around us. However you meant it, it’s beautiful, Rachael. I like the unique line structure, too.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      It’s really interesting what you say! I’m not sure your professor was such a good thing – I hope he didn’t zap your confidence…
      I’ve been thinking about this haiku a lot. I like some kind of resolution in all that I write – even if it’s open ended – and there is none here. But that is one of the mains elements of the koan for instance – that using rational, logical thinking, there is no way of understanding. That is the point. So from that point of view it may be a good koan, at least. I think as a haiku, it is aesthetically pleasing, if nothing else. Thanks for your thoughtful comments – as ever, dear friend, they are invaluable. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Spinning at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

