leaning

April 27, 2014 § 3 Comments

 51a664fcae908d80a55f86e61d142549

ancient crack willow

leaning over the millpond –

to tickle the trout

~

Image courtesy ‘The Phantom King Alchemist’

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to leaning

  • Miranda Stone says:

    I love the playfulness of this haiku! Normally when I see a willow, I imagine that it has a sad nature, probably because of the way it droops forlornly. But now I’ll imagine it leaning over a pond to tickle the trout. (Fantastic alliteration in that last line!)

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thank you, my friend! You always see the best in my work, and for that I am ever grateful. Haiku is an ideal medium to express playfulness… 🙂 And have a good week.

  • […] Can you guess why I love it? Yes, those blackbirds! Their singing also brings me great joy! Here is another one called leaning: […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading leaning at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

