spiders

May 4, 2014 § 8 Comments

Image

behind the sofa

hundreds of baby spiders –

should i sweep them up?

~

Photo courtesy Jeffery Gerhardt

Tagged: , ,

§ 8 Responses to spiders

  • pi314chron says:

    hahaha! YES! Unless your name is Issa! 🙂

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      I was thinking of a more spiritual and kindly approach… 😉
      PS. See my short story ‘The Good Wife’ for a more robust response…

  • Yes sweep them up – I don’t want them to crawl on me 🙂

    I really enjoyed this, you are so in your stride with these poems and I’m loving it..

  • Miranda Stone says:

    Oh, I love this poem about baby spiders! I don’t know if this was inspired by actual events, but if it was, I have no doubt that you tried to save the baby spiders. I remember one spring several years ago, I came across a mama wolf spider in my office at work. She was carrying all of her baby spiders on her back, and I knew I had to transplant her outside or she would be squished by some heartless coworker. Wolf spiders can be aggressive, but I managed to move her to safety without incurring her wrath. 🙂

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      LOVE your story about the baby wolf spiders! Very brave of you. No, the haiku wasn’t based on any truth – although I quite often see mama spiders with all their babies in the garden. If I did find some in the house I wouldn’t vacuum them up like the mad woman in my story ‘The Good Wife’. Promise. I’d collect them up and put them somewhere safe. Outside. Soo pleased you’re enjoying my more lighthearted haiku. I’m just playing! 🙂

  • What, and risk an infestation of flying bugs? Best not!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading spiders at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

