compensation

May 19, 2014 § 18 Comments

 

Image

without the toothache

i would have missed the sunrise –

in goes the needle

~

Photo courtesy Philip Yale

Tagged: , ,

§ 18 Responses to compensation

  • I like the sense of balance here, Rachael – pain and pleasure, if you like. Again you have captured a sense of the Tao.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thanks Chris. I hope I’m giving some pleasure with these haiku. They make me feel rather peaceful- not like me at all.

  • wildsherkin says:

    Ouch…but beautiful.

  • Miranda Stone says:

    Okay, I have an overpowering fear of the dentist’s needle, so I must admit that last line stopped me short and actually made me grimace! So very well done, my friend! 😀 Now if only I could find the same positive experience in my next trip for dental work.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Only the best people have a fear of the dentist’s needle. I should know. Next time I meet one, which won’t be too far away, I shall think of you… 🙂

      • Miranda Stone says:

        It’s funny, because I have a friend who actually enjoys the process of getting stuck with the needle, and then having her teeth drilled. As crazy as that sounds, I’m envious of her. I’m so scared of needles in my mouth that I’ve often opted to have cavities filled with no Novocaine.

        • Rachael Charmley says:

          I wish I had a friend like that – it would make me rethink my fear! I once tried to have a filling with homeopathy instead – it didn’t work. Hurt like hell!
          There was only one time when my fear went. I’d been doing some ocean sailing in the Atlantis. We were on our way to the Azores when we hit a storm. It was touch and go whether we and the boat would make it. I didn’t mind going to the dentist for about a year after that. I suppose the brush with death put things in perspective… Oh woe… 🙂

  • Miranda Stone says:

    Oh, and I love that title, too. Fits perfectly.

  • pi314chron says:

    Lovely, Rachael! I hear a vague echo of a haiku by Basho, Buson, Issa, Shiki, or one of the other “biggies,” but I don’t remember which “biggie” or the specific haiku. But it takes the form of “If this bad thing hadn’t happened, I would have missed the good thing.” Maybe you know the haiku?

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thank you! No I don’t know it- but I’m not in the slightest bit well read in haiku society. A book on the biggies should be arriving soon…

    • pi314chron says:

      Well, I didn’t find the haiku I was thinking about, but I did find one with a similar motif at “Our Daily Online Haiku” —

      Dew on each grass blade.
      Without this game of golf, I
      would have missed this dawn.

      Yours is better!

      Ron

  • pi314chron says:

    I found the haiku I was trying to remember:

    without my journey
    and without the spring
    I would have missed the dawn (Shiki)

    So you’re in company with one of the haiku greats! Congrats!!

    Ron

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thanks for taking the trouble, Ron. You’re a terrier!
      A beautiful haiku – something to aspire to. x

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading compensation at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

