disinterest

June 9, 2014 § 10 Comments

Image

caterwauling

in the delphiniums –

snore of the old dog

~

Tagged: , , ,

§ 10 Responses to disinterest

  • F.G.M. says:

    Beautiful! Because of the hailstorms we had here last night, such a scene would have been impossible in my (a bit groggy) garden 🙂 And many thanks for having taught me a new verb “to caterwaul”. Have a nice week Rachael 🙂

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Hailstorms in June? Anything is possible these days, I suppose. We’re waiting for a thunderstorm here just now, it’s feeling very oppressive.
      So pleased you liked this haiku, F. I’m a little unsure about them at the moment as I try and allow myself to break the ‘classical rules’. Part of the process of learning…
      Have a productive and happy week 🙂

  • Bruce Goodman says:

    Once you know the rules and know how to keep them, you can break as many as you like. Apparently Bach’s last 4 bars broke every harmony rule in the book – as if to say, I can still make it work! Wonderful things you’re writing these days!

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thanks for reminding me, Bruce! If you ever read my ‘about’ page, I say just that. I forgot when you jump over these little walls it can be a bit scary!
      If JSB can do it… 🙂

  • Miranda Stone says:

    This brought such a smile to my face! Sometimes those old dog snores are as loud as thunder. 😀 And I love “caterwauling.” I remember I first discovered that word when I was 13 and writing some truly craptacular fiction, and I worked “caterwaul” into just about every story I wrote. Ah, memories. I hope your week is off to a lovely start, dear friend!

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      ‘Craptacular’ ? Thanks, Miranda – I shall remember that one! Haiku do come together in a peculiar way sometimes. A friend tells me a story about her sick dog, I grumble about my weedy garden, and some cats keep me awake! My weird synapses do the rest… 🙂

  • I love what your synapses have woven here from three threads and one image….lovely 🙂

  • SirenaTales says:

    Love the gorgeous delphinium, the vividness of the canine caterwauling and the juxtaposition between the two, Rachael. Thank you! xoxo

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thank you! I’m beginning to see why I prefer haiku to writing stories 🙂 I love capturing the moment (and it doesn’t test my attention span…) xx

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading disinterest at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

