substance

June 15, 2014 § 9 Comments

Image

 falling leaves –

traces of a beech tree

shiver in a puddle

~

Painting courtesy Susannah Anderson

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to substance

  • Beautiful imagery, Rachael, this gives a hint of the transience of life.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thank you, Chris. I’m playing with the idea of ‘reality’, too. What ‘is’ ? Is what we see what is there? 🙂

  • vicklinde says:

    I love the imagery of how a reflection is broken when part of the image breaks away.
    V.

  • Miranda Stone says:

    This literally makes my heart ache for autumn, Rachael. Something about the way the light is falling on the water in that image–it makes me think of an autumn afternoon. And now that our temperatures are roasting hot here (we’ll be creeping toward 100 degrees this week), I miss fall more than ever. Ah, three more months.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Summer is short – and I like it because of that; but like you I really wither in the heat and can’t sleep. 100 degrees sounds too hot! Can you not escape into the mountains, my friend, or find some cooling water in which to bathe? Am I right in assuming autumn is your favourite time – it certainly is mine. I so like winter too…but I am grateful for the seasons – my spirit needs them. I’ve stayed in countries where the climate stays more or less the same (ie. hot), and it doesn’t suit. As you say, only three more months. xxx

      • Miranda Stone says:

        Oh, yes, autumn is my favorite time of year. I feel like I’m returning to life during that season. (I swear, I have some kind of reverse seasonal affective disorder going on. I want to hibernate during the summer.) The mountains would offer some relief, but I’m only able to escape on weekends. 😦

  • Liana says:

    wow . . . weak-kneed and sweaty

    where have you been all my blog?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading substance at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

