out of place

June 17, 2014 § 14 Comments

SI Exif

some weeds in my garden

make it look –

even prettier

~

Herb Robert

Tagged: , , ,

§ 14 Responses to out of place

  • Miranda Stone says:

    You remember what Emerson said about weeds! 🙂 Seems like a lot of wildflowers are considered weeds, which is sad. I mean, who determines which flowers are weeds and which are desirable?

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Absolutely, my friend. When I had the farm we planted wild flower meadows – it was easy becos there was so much space to let things be wild. Here its different: just two gardens and a yard. I grow lots of ‘wild’ flowers’ in between the rest, and it looks much more natural. I draw the line at dandelions and nettles though 🙂

      • Miranda Stone says:

        I don’t think anyone cares for the poor dandelions (except for those who make dandelion wine, perhaps?) Nettles–don’t they sting? Yeah, I wouldn’t want those around either.

  • I was going to say exactly the same as Miranda! I agree too – wild is good!

  • Some of my favourite garden flowers are weeds….beautiful Campanula, floating foxgloves and foamy lady’s mantle to name a few 🙂

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Hmm. You sound like a weed gardener just like me! Or do I mean wild flower nurturer? My garden is full of feverfew at the moment. Generous drifts of pure white. And then there’s the flax I sowed a few years ago. It self seeds, and is the colour of a clear summer sky. And then… 🙂

  • Dan Antion says:

    We have patches of weeds in our yard with such pretty flowers that at some points in the year we mow around them. It’s good to know we aren’t alone.

  • SirenaTales says:

    Thank you for the persuasive support for shifting perspective, Rachael. Wise words and lovely image–would love to see your grounds…they sound heavenly. xo

  • i know… i know… some weeds have such pretty flowers 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading out of place at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

