just so

June 24, 2014 § 4 Comments

Image

green eyes unblinking

as she licks the silken fur –

no sign of that mouse

~

 

 

 

 

Image of Madarenka The Cat courtesy of Takeuchi Seiho’s estate

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to just so

  • F.G.M. says:

    All cats lovers (I am one of them) will love this poem, thank you Rachael 🙂

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thanks, F. It’s such a beautiful painting I couldn’t resist writing something cheeky to go with it 🙂

  • Miranda Stone says:

    Wow, it wasn’t until I read your comment above that I realized it was indeed a painting! So beautiful, and what a lovely haiku to accompany it. That does look like one very content cat! Fantastic ending, Rachael, as usual. (Well, not fantastic for the fictional mouse, but you know what I mean.) Love and hugs, friend.

  • Rachael Charmley says:

    Haa! Glad you liked it. I’ve been researching Japanese painting the last couple of evenings, and I’ve found some lovely ones like the cat, I hope to share via the haiku. They come under the generic term of ‘nihonga’ and many have an ethereal, amorphous quality I so like.
    Was thinking about that disease you mentioned that mosquitoes carry (in your accidentally killing a spider poem) – it sounds really horrible. Hope you’ll be okay :-/

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading just so at Changing Skin: modern haiku and other stories.

meta