ululation

June 26, 2014 § 8 Comments

ss101866-the-moon

after the solstice

 the wolves go to ground –

only the moon howls

~

Acknowledgement to George Carlin for the idea, and to the estate of Nakai Kohkoku (1871 -) for the image painted on a silk scroll…

Tagged: , ,

§ 8 Responses to ululation

  • F.G.M. says:

    Beautiful haiku, beautifully illustrated as usual. Owl, I love these birds, to howl, I love this verb too. I hope you’re still interested in co-writing, and that we’ll write something together one day. At present I’m trying to do something with “to tear”, “to make a tear in”, I love this expression, because the word “tear” is polysemous in English (in French, accroc, and larmes, are not at all the same, I find it’s very poetical to link them). So Rachael, if these words (or others) inspire you, don’t hesitate to mail me… wordsinthelight(at)mail.com,
    you know I love your both light/very deep way of writing and style. Very challenging for me. En attendant, merci encore pour ce poème à l’atmosphère nocturne délicieusement merveilleuse… 🙂

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thank you for your appreciation, Frederic. Do you know, it has been such a long time since I knew anyone who delights and loves words as much as you. I particularly love the way you play with them to express the often serious (?) business of existence. I would love to co-write with you at some point – we will know when it is the right time… 🙂

      • F.G.M. says:

        oh great! so, we just need to write for a poetical sign that will tell us “now, work together” 🙂 thank you Rachael 🙂

  • Miranda Stone says:

    You’re always teaching me something new, Rachael! 😉 I had to look up the definition of ululation. The word made me think of “uvula,” which in the context of your poem, made absolutely no sense. 😛 This is one of your perfect haiku. Striking imagery, and every word is the best possible choice. You really are one of the most magnificent haiku writers I’ve ever seen.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      *Blushes deeply* 🙂 There have been one or two good ones I admit, but they shine out above the rest which are different levels of mediocre/ work in progress. That’s the way it goes. But I shall bask vain glorious in your praise, and every time I press the ‘Publish’ button when I shouldn’t, I shall remember your words and try to live up to them!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading ululation at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

