heat

July 6, 2014 § 2 Comments

jeffrey-becom-detail-of-painted-house-facade-with-shutter-and-hammock-la-venta-del-sur-choluteca-honduras

in the torpid evening air

the empty hammock –

lazily swings

~

 

Image courtesy Jeffrey Becom

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to heat

  • Miranda Stone says:

    Maybe I’m reading this in an odd way, or bringing my own associations to it, but I find something strangely eerie in the image you’ve painted here, Rachael. It never fails to amaze me how so few words can evoke such powerful emotions. Beautifully written, my friend.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      No, you’re right. I intended to create an undercurrent of menace. By using ‘torpid’ and ‘lazily’ I gave character that probably couldn’t exist. If I had substituted ‘snake’ or ‘lizard’ for ‘hammock’ then the haiku would have lacked tension but would have made more logical sense. That’s my take on it, anyway!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading heat at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

