scud

July 17, 2014 § 7 Comments

isea foaml_570xN.323214875

in the storm

sea foam –

becomes cloud

~

 

Image courtesy Robert Cadloff

Tagged: , , ,

§ 7 Responses to scud

  • F.G.M. says:

    I’ve counted the words… seven simple words, and you create a painting of metamorphosis. Sea, sky, water, sea foam… seven words that (in my opinion) evoke the soul and its own possible transformations. Seven words plus one: “scud”, the title! There’s something “abyssal” in your poem Rachael… maybe our real nature would be transformation, metamorphosis, in other words, impermament states… I love it very much! Thanks for sharing, xxoo

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Yes, Frederic, and you put it so beautifully. For me it is a reminder that we can change, we can transform ourselves, and so-called ‘miracles’ can happen when we step out of those false, self imposed boundaries.
      Last week I woke with arthritis in my hands. Now I can’t hold onto things properly. A sign – a welcome sign I feel – that I must let life flow, and not hold on to the past. We shall see if I am right…

      • F.G.M. says:

        Going beyond “self imposed boundaries…” it may be a wonderful definition of Poetry! Sorry for your arthritis (not a beautiful word and moreover difficult to write!) and I hope you feel better. I’m sure you’re right 🙂 xxoo

  • SirenaTales says:

    Good morning, lovely. This exquisiteness may be my new favorite, although it may be a ten-way tie :). You refresh me. Thank you for sharing the beautiful inspiration and vision, Rachael. Here’s to transformation! I need to cultivate some of that, or merely the grace to facilitate it. xoxo

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thank you sweet lady. You refresh me too – every time I read your work. Sharing all this makes blogging so worthwhile – like throwing a pebble in an ocean knowing the ripples are infinite..
      Yep: here’s to transformation – or as you suggest – let’s all try and get to that place where we can find the grace to allow it to happen… xxx

  • Miranda Stone says:

    I like that word: scud. Seems like it’s not used nearly often enough. You have a true gift for saying so much in so few words, my dear friend. Each of your poems, with their beautiful accompanying images, is a treat. Love to you!

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Yes, you’re right about that word – and it feels so nice on the tongue. Reminds me of Victorian poets!
      Hope you’re doing fine, and have a nice weekend. xxx

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading scud at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

