delight

July 18, 2014 § 6 Comments

ploverX

 spring storm

white tipped waves –

young plover playing chicken

~

 

Image courtesy Takeuchi Seiho

Tagged: , ,

§ 6 Responses to delight

  • F.G.M. says:

    I love it Rachael! Thanks to your last verse I’ve learnt many things:
    -the word “plover”, very nice birds!
    -the expression “to play chicken”, that is so funny! I really was puzzled by the expression “playing chicken” 🙂
    -I love the “unsaid” many possible meanings of this verse
    Thank you, have a nice week-end 🙂

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Aww. Thanks. I so naively assume that everyone knows what I’m talking about. Playing chicken is a kind of ‘daring’ thing kids do, and grown ups who haven’t really grown up do it too…
      I’m so pleased it gave you pleasure and even a little puzzlement 🙂
      Have a pleasant weekend too, F. We shall have a wet one. We’re waiting for the storm to break after this heatwave 🙂

  • i admit i was puzzled too 🙂 i enjoy your haikus btw every day 🙂 hope the rain comes to you x

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Maybe my role is to puzzle… 🙂 Pleased you’re liking the haiku – they just keep on coming – but not much one can say about them 🙂

  • Miranda Stone says:

    Oh, I love this image, Rachael! I always enjoyed seeing the plovers dancing around in the surf, scurrying away from the ice cold water on spring mornings as they searched for food. Beautiful words, as always, dear friend.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thank you, Miranda! It’s an image I’ve had in my head since childhood, when we used to go to the sea for a few weeks every year – always to the same place. There were wide plains of sand. My brothers and I would draw and write stuff, then climb the cliffs to admire our efforts. Have an enjoyable weekend, dear friend.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading delight at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

