orford ness

July 22, 2014 § 15 Comments

2007_orford_ness_danger_mono

a long single spit

hares

hawks

voices

in the wind

desert by the sea

~

Tagged: ,

§ 15 Responses to orford ness

  • I like the imagery in this piece – spartan yet emotive.

  • Miranda Stone says:

    I had to do a bit of Googling for this one, which led me to terms like cuspate foreland shingle spit. Your description, desert by the sea, is perfect! Spare but beautiful, Rachael.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thanks, Miranda – wonder what ‘cuspate’ means? If you google the title you’ll see what a strange and eerie place it is. Empty concrete and rusty metal buildings – all housing secrets… xxx

  • I like the way you’ve painted the picture…atmospheric. 🙂

  • pi314chron says:

    A delightful example of “concrete poetry.” The graphic arrangement of the words is very effective in suggesting the appearance of this complex geological phenomenon. Kudos for this lovely “concrete poetry comes to haiku.” 😛

  • Dan Antion says:

    Very much thought provoking imagery. Nicely done.

  • SirenaTales says:

    Thank you for starting my day with stimulation for brain and soul, Rachael. Like Miranda, I had to do some research here. Very cool subject, treated evocatively and poetically, per usual. Agree with the others: “spare,” “spartan”…and for me, a wee bit “spooky” (probably “eerie” is more apt, but was searching for an “sp” word :). Maybe “spectral?”). Spectacular work, my friend. xoxo

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      It’s a strange thing. I knew the place made me feel weird, but I didn’t know why until I wrote about it. Yes, Chloe – and thank you – it is spectral and definitely not to be visited at night. :-0

  • NEO says:

    A very interesting place, in several contexts, and a perfect description.

    Strangely, or perhaps not, I had a similar feeling on the battlefield at the Little Bighorn. Sort of as if their were some quite unsettled spirits around. Don’t think I’d want to be on either at night. 🙂

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Yes, I do see why you could have a similar feeling there. I didn’t think it relevant to tell others about its history – but I’m sure you’re aware of it – it is very strange, and definitely a place of many secrets. Thank you, Neo for your interesting take 🙂

      • NEO says:

        Not anywhere near all of it I’m sure, strangely I ran across it the other day, in a different context, and plan to do some more reading. This type of thing, military and civilian as well, sort of architectural history, has always fascinated me. Our story is out there, in the ruins, and near ruins 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading orford ness at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

