leaving

August 5, 2014 § 8 Comments

b93ee6eb394ec11705729be70b7846d8

the swallow knows.

circling

 she turns south  –

for africa

~

Image courtesy DIMDI Studios

Tagged: , ,

§ 8 Responses to leaving

  • Ahh, and how vital is that little piece of knowledge? I love the sense of Taoist wisdom that you so often capture in your poems, Rachael.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thank you, Chris. They are a real pleasure to write too, and give me a sense of being part of something so much bigger than me…

  • Beautiful….but I hope they’re not heading home yet?

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      No, no – some weeks yet I hope! They were on my mind as they’re so much part of my daily life just now with their swooping about and twitterings… 🙂

  • Miranda Stone says:

    Fantastic! Sometimes I envy the birds and their sense of inherent knowing. Have you seen the film Winged Migration? Your poem made me think of it. Beautiful words, my friend!

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      I envy their knowing too – but I like to think that we know ‘things’ too we know longer know we know – if you get my drift! Wishful thinking perhaps. I’ll check out that film – maybe it’s on YouTube.

      As I write, the swallows are twittering outside my window like they’re planning some mischief!

  • SirenaTales says:

    the poet
    Is a swallow
    circling, inward, deeper
    connecting in vastness
    knowing
    becoming
    home
    ~
    you are
    that poet

    thank you, xo

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading leaving at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

