efface

August 6, 2014 § 14 Comments

summer rain-sm

if the rain doesn’t stop

it will erase

the summer

~

Fabulous painting courtesy Sandra Dooley

Tagged: , , ,

§ 14 Responses to efface

  • pi314chron says:

    Delightful! Could you send us a small vial of rain water? We have almost forgotten what it looks like. My version is a silly little thing, reflecting the author, I suppose:

    rain rain go away
    before the summer’s
    gone

    🙂

    Ron

  • Or perhaps remind it why it’s here.
    Lovely verse, Rachael.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thank you. I think it might be here because it’s August and everyone would sooner it was elsewhere…

  • F.G.M. says:

    Bonjour Rachael! Oh, don’t worry: I’m sure summers are unerasable… wonderful haiku & wonderful illustration as usual. Eventhough I’m enjoying my “break” very much, I don’t forget you 🙂 Have a nice week.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Bonjour aussi dear friend, ‘en vacance’! I jest indeed – remember the English always go on about the weather…
      Missing you and your beautiful words, and look forward to your return 🙂

  • Miranda Stone says:

    And we could actually use a little rain here. Last summer, we got so much rain, many of the fall leaves simply dropped without even turning. I hope it lets up for you, my friend! (And beautiful poem, as always. 😉 )

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Rains stopped now after about twelve hours, and all the plants and trees look revived. We needed it! Glad you like the poem, although I’m not sure it was a haiku as it didn’t make that shift on the third line, but hey ho – who cares 🙂

  • lorriebowden says:

    Noooo…don’t erase the summer! 🙂 Tis my favorite season!! ❤

  • Emily Grace says:

    lovely painting.

    fascinating thought.
    Thanks!,
    eg

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading efface at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

