hope

August 9, 2014 § 12 Comments

prayers carried

on nature’s breath –

to mount sinjar

~

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 12 Responses to hope

  • Like, like, like, like, like… I’ve struggled to respond to this beyond the welling up of tears of impotent rage – not just at seeing the evil being done (all too human) but at our powerlessness to prevent it, like being in a nightmare where you can’t run from the monster that’s coming after you or you haven’t got the strength to lift your finger to flick the switch that would make it all stop.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      I understand your feelings. What I have said in the haiku feels inadequate and trite. Written within the safety of my comfortable middle class bubble, it is not enough – it does not even get to the start line. My partner is a diplomatic historian, and these last few days I have learned much of the Middle East and World politics, and and I am now at the point of despair with the human race. As I speak, the USA is being vilified by many in the West, yet Obama was prepared to act on humanitarian grounds, while the UN appears to be unable to. Are there no lessons to be learned from the planet’s history of genocide? I, like you, truly despair.

  • All our prayers should be directed there, by all who believe in any sort of deity – and we should never underestimate its power. I share your sense of despair, and have found C’s writing on AATW some of the most powerful I have read on this.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Sometimes prayers seem utterly inadequate, Geoffrey, but I am grateful for ‘C’s’ understanding and wisdom. But it is not enough. I am ashamed to be a member of the human race. Powerlessless, in whatever context, is one of the hardest things for humans to endure.

    • chalcedon451 says:

      Thank you Geoffrey. Rachael’s despair is understandable – but if one takes the view we are a fallen race but can be redeemed, then it can be escaped.

  • Dan Antion says:

    The human race changes very slowly. Your words, images, thoughts and conversations might be starting or helping to move it in the right direction. Don’t be ashamed. Continue making your statements. Continue to pray for and encourage the right kind of change, even if you don’t see it taking place.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Of course I like to think you may be right, Dan- if fact I have believed this for a long time. I’ve also believed that we often learn by our errors of judgement- but perhaps the truth is we can learn, but history points out we often choose not to. As you say, it is particularly hard to believe there will be change for the good amidst the continuing atrocities taking place before our eyes. I try to understand the bigger picture now in an attempt to see that some sea change may come of this…

  • Miranda Stone says:

    My heart breaks when I read of the suffering that the Yazidis are enduring. I know it’s easy to feel helpless in the face of such atrocities, but by sharing your poem here, Rachael (which is in no way inadequate or trite), you’re bringing awareness. How many of your readers weren’t aware of what’s happening on Mount Sinjar before they read your poem? How many are aware now? Words have power, my dear friend. Thank you for sharing yours.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thank you for that, Miranda. Yesterday seemed rather hopeless, but today it’s clear that the world has begun to help: energy has shifted. xx

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading hope at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

