gratitude

August 22, 2014 § 8 Comments

River-Waveney-Suffolk-007

this path

leads to stillness and solitude –

and my river

~

Image courtesy Graham Turner

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to gratitude

  • NEO says:

    Yes, yes it does. Thank you. 🙂

  • SirenaTales says:

    Comment to follow when I can get to reliable wi-fi. xo

  • Miranda Stone says:

    I really like the way this poem is set up, Rachael. My mind wants to switch the second and third lines, so the structure makes me read the poem more closely. Well done!

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      I have an idea this poem shows the struggle as I try to refine my work. I have cut and honed again and again, until even the original intention is changed. I think I am, at last, beginning to understand the great skill and wisdom that the haiku masters possessed. Thank you, as ever, for your erudite and sensitive comments, my friend. Have a lovely weekend 🙂

  • SirenaTales says:

    A profound, and tender, quietude is what this lovely poem exudes and elicits for me, Rachael. As the mists lift, their memory enriches and feeds the clarified path and the thirsty river. Thank you for the wisdom and beauty. Xxx

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Your second sentence is beautiful and adds so much to the poem. I’ve noticed that haiku often inspire the writing of more haiku: perhaps like a helix – going around and rising upwards yet never touching the same place. That second sentence feels like it could easily be one of those. Thank you for your lovely words my friend, which are always appreciated.xxx

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading gratitude at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

