found

September 1, 2014 § 14 Comments

8615922896

Β long winter

under the blackberry bush –

missed teddy bear

~

Image courtesy Kathy Wright

Tagged: , , ,

§ 14 Responses to found

  • Dan Antion says:

    Hard to tell which emotion (happy/sad) wins here.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Ahh… bless, Dan. It really did happen, although he isn’t the bear in the picture. We gave him a good wash in the spring and he came up like new. He’s still around, although we don’t let him out too often as he tends to fall asleep in inappropriate places…:-)

  • F.G.M. says:

    Touching! The choice of a “blackberry bush” is as musical as poetical… and in only two words “long winter” there are so many feelings… great as always… xo

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thank you for taking the time, Frederic. I know it’s hard sometimes to think of things to say about a humble haiku. Your presence is much valued. xx πŸ™‚

  • Miranda Stone says:

    I’ve always been fascinated by things forgotten or abandoned, so this poem particularly resonated with me, Rachael. There’s a sense of sadness here, too–I wonder how long the bear’s previous owner looked for this. Awesome alliteration here.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      I know what you mean. I feel the same. It also applies to sounds and smells I thought I’d forgotten too. It all comes flooding back. Have a great week, my friend.

  • SirenaTales says:

    This evocative gem roiled a thunderstorm in my gut after thrusting a knot in my throat, Rachael (I am nothing if not dramatic :)). Why is this such a powerful story you conjure? Is it that we can recall the long, treacherous winters and the lost treasures and comforts? That what we yearned for was nearby, all along, under the enchanted blackberry bush? That you remind us of the overwhelming relief and joy of rediscovering those treasures? Etc. etc. Vulnerability and redemption! Yahoo! Thank you for your wonderful artistry. Xoxo

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Ahh, Chloe. You’re amazing! I just write dem haiku and leave the interpretation to the universe πŸ™‚ Changing the subject, a number of us (at least Miranda and I) did respond to your beautiful ‘wondering where the muse was’ poem. We responded on your old blog – or rather the one where you originally posted it. Did you receive the comments?

      Lovely to have you back dear friend xxxx

      • SirenaTales says:

        Yes, I did receive those wonderful comments…decided to spend the little time I have had this weekend on reading what y’all have been up to and leaving you comments, and then replying ASAP. Still floundering over here. :/ love to you

        • Rachael Charmley says:

          That’s fine, Chloe. No comment necessary. I’m just a bit concerned. Floundering I know about – email if you like – we can exchange symptoms and possible cures for flounderation πŸ™‚

          • SirenaTales says:

            Thanks so much, Rachael. I think we should also come up with a select, i.e. small, lexicon of words that should be words: flounderation! goosebumping! And pour moi: dramaqueenificating! xoxo

  • kismet says:

    πŸ˜₯πŸ˜₯πŸ˜₯

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading found at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

