sneak

September 2, 2014 § 17 Comments

The book of knowledge

flicking through the diary –

letting all

Β  his secrets out

~

Image source unknown

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 17 Responses to sneak

  • mikesteeden says:

    I think you captured a million metaphors here!

  • F.G.M. says:

    I wish I knew that the secrets were!
    but curiosity killed the cat…
    you’re wise enough not to tell them πŸ™‚

  • F.G.M. says:

    πŸ™‚ thanks for learning me “wreak havoc”… “havoc” is a strange word, it doesn’t sound or look English… (rather a latin word) as I did not know its meaning, I really wondered what you meant! Inspiring expression…

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      I thought you’d like it. It has French origins, I believe. From ‘havot’ which is Old French, which turned into ‘havok’ (Anglo Norman); then havoc, which is Middle English. A lovely word. Wreaking is pretty good too. Might be Old English but haven’t checked. I think it’s time you taught me some interesting French idioms πŸ™‚

      • F.G.M. says:

        oh yes! I will try to find them in my next comments. Havot is a word “qui a dΓ» tomber dans les oubliettes”. (to sink into oblivion). Oubliettes is a funny word, a medieval word… its roots are “oubli” (oblivion)… in fact it was a kind of “hole” in medieval castles where you could throw your foes… sometimes I think it would be great modern houses have “oubliettes” πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ maybe there is a word in English for that, since there are also many castles in Great Britain!!! xxoo

        • Rachael Charmley says:

          I’m sure there is a word for oubliette. There is a castle close by (Framlingham), which has one, so I will check what they call it. Could just be a dungeon!

  • One has to wonder whether they were really secrets or whether they were written to be discovered. Ah, the power of the pen!

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Haiku are like little arrows being fired into the air – who knows where they’ll land and what will be the consequence. That’s why I love them so much. People give them meanings that never occurred to me. I forget who said that he didn’t know what his poetry meant – he just wrote it… I’m thinking Eliot, but it couldn’t be…but then again… πŸ™‚

  • Miranda Stone says:

    Here’s another great haiku worthy of a story, Rachael!

  • SirenaTales says:

    Oh, I like Miranda’s idea: a story from this cool, ironic haiku! Thanks, too, for the intriguing convo above with FrΓ©dΓ©ric about oubliettes and dungeons. Love you guys!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading sneak at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

