evil

September 15, 2014 § 12 Comments

Kayama1

fresh snow in the forest

light on dark –

yet a vortex of crows

~

Image courtesy Matazo Kayama

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 12 Responses to evil

  • “A Vortex of crows” Wow this is a wonderful line…
    Sent from my BlackBerry smartphone from Virgin Media

  • Surely not evil, Rachael! Such power and grace, yet with a killer instinct.
    I always feel that crows (and their relatives) have had a bad press over the years.
    I love this poem and the accompanying picture though.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      I love crows, Chris. And rooks and ravens. As you say – power and grace – and intelligence. I was feeding off their unfortunate image here – and the painting – that whirring image of swooping and committed energy, fits in with what I wanted to say so well 🙂

  • Wow, this is profound and wonderful! ‘Light on dark, yet a vortex of crows’ you have captured the image brilliantly. Thanks for sharing! ❤

  • pi314chron says:

    Hidden in plain sight — a sobering message for the world, perhaps?

    Meaning aside (as it should be), this haiku draws from me a powerful emotional response much the same as when I see a double rainbow. Magnificent, Rachael!

    Ron

  • F.G.M. says:

    “a vortex of crows”, what a powerful metaphor Rachael… the picture and the poem are in perfect balance… eventhough you don’t use the word “white”, it is visually very present… great work! Have a nice week 🙂

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thanks, Frederic. I wasn’t sure, but in the end removed the words ‘white’ and ‘black’ at the last moment thinking their replacements expressed at a deeper level what I was trying to say. You too have a productive week. It rains here a little, but above the clouds I can feel the sun 🙂

  • Miranda Stone says:

    Love the imagery here. And what a striking title for this poem.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      I was hunting for an image for something else when I found this – it was irresistible. Chris wasn’t happy that I’d called crows evil – and of course they’re not – but that image generated so many thoughts and fears about what’s going on in our world just now…
      Take care. Hope you’re OK, my friend, and writing well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading evil at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

