zazen

September 22, 2014 § 8 Comments

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

sat in the tall reeds

 ’til i forget who i am –

plop!

a water rat

~

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to zazen

  • F.G.M. says:

    onomatopoeias are the best (written) way to dissolve the ego in water or in the air… shoo!!!!
    you’ve captured this magic moment Rachael! Great work :-)♥

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thank you! And so they are. You do so inspire me, Frederic, and for that I shall flip my hat into the sky and salute you ❤

  • There’s always something to break your thoughts! Very evocative!

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thank you, Chris. The lovely thing is the ‘plop’ was different during the sitting – not a surprise, just something to be enjoyed for what it is 🙂

  • Miranda Stone says:

    Oh, how many times have I tried and failed at zazen! (But since we’re not supposed to be aspiring toward any goal, I guess I shouldn’t deem the failures as such.) This is such a playful poem. I guess the water rat is so at home in the present, he doesn’t need zazen. 🙂

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Good point my wise one! I doubt any creature except us needs to do zazen anyway 🙂 The water rat went in the poem as I suspected I was getting a bit slapdash about making those ‘last line conceptual shifts’ – so I chucked him in!

      I shall need to practice zazen rather a lot this week. My house overlooks a park. In that park very close to the boundary fence, a ‘funfair’ has appeared. I like funfairs. I like the noise and the flashing lights and the candyfloss, and being thrown around upside down inside rusty bits of metal, but, big BUT, not in my backyard when it’s past my bedtime. Oh joy. So any grumpy haiku this week will be due entirely to a tolerance crisis of lil’ ol’ me 🙂

  • Rachael Charmley says:

    Yep 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading zazen at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

