thief

October 7, 2014 § 9 Comments

the first autumn gale –

steals

leaves

from

my

gingko

tree

~

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to thief

  • Miranda Stone says:

    The gingko trees drop their leaves so fast, seemingly overnight. A reminder that all the trees will be bare before long.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      It’s started already here as it’s suddenly got cold and windy. Still, like you as I remember, you prefer this time of year 🙂

  • Beautiful. Beautiful Rachael! I love it 🙂

  • F.G.M. says:

    Ah Gingko trees… Gingko leaves… what a wonderful tree, in a wonderful poem… do you know that in Hiroshima, a gingko has survived the atomic bomb? http://kwanten.home.xs4all.nl/hiroshima.htm
    It’s just amazing, like a symbol, a sign, something telling us Life is stronger. I do respect trees, but I would knee before this Gingko Thank you & ♥

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Yes, it’s extraordinary. I’d heard these living fossils thrive despite pollution – hence why they grow so well in cities, I suppose. I’ve planted a few in various places I’ve lived, but they never come to much. This one i have just now is about ten years ago and a very happy tree – but it’s only about six feet high. I shall tell it what you said. Thank you for the link too 🙂

  • Bruce Goodman says:

    The gingko has male and female varieties. I hope yours is a male, as the fruit on the female gingko stinks something terrible. Never plant a gingko in a school yard, where little boys will throw the stinking fruit. (Being male and gingko is about the only advantage of being male in the contemporary world!) And, oh! how I am enjoying the Spring!

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Yes, it is a male thank goodness, although I always thought the fruits looked rather pretty…
      How weird it is to think of springtime busting out all over in your neck of the woods, where here we had the first gale yesterday and argued amicably whether we should have a long cuddle or turn the central heating on. We did both! I hope you bounce over your green and verdant land like a new spring lambkin!

  • Terrible thief the gale 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading thief at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

