not sleeping

October 9, 2014 § 13 Comments

notsleeping

 

on

the

river

bank

the

swan

watches

me

watching-

without blinking

~

 

 

 

 

 

Image courtesy Jackie Morris

Tagged: , , ,

§ 13 Responses to not sleeping

  • Miranda Stone says:

    The watchful swan! I recently saw a video about a man attempting to rescue a cygnet that had become trapped in a chain-link fence. (The rescue was ultimately successful.) While the man was trying to help out, the father swan was beating the heck out of him with his wings, hard enough to bruise. I had no idea swans were such fiercely protective parents.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      No, I didn’t know either, Miranda. I often meet swans on my river walks, and I always give them a wide berth as they’re pretty unpredictable. This poem was about a competition, or a battle of wills really. Who would blink first. Me or the swan?
      I love your comments. These snippets of information you send to bring the poem more life πŸ™‚

  • F.G.M. says:

    Ou alors
    Peut-Γͺtre
    Ne dort-il que d’un oeil…

    perhaps it’s just sleeping with one eye…

    Beautiful, as always… I love your one-word per line poems! β™₯

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      That’s what I thought too, but I couldn’t fit it in… These darn poems. Never enough space…

      Well, thank you for giving me the idea on layout. It’s a useful technique I mustn’t overuse. ❀

  • SirenaTales says:

    Very interesting that the spare form you’ve used, and the words, accentuate the tension between you and the swan–the competition. So effective. Maybe it is the spareness? Anyhoo, lovely and compelling. xoxo

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thank you! I’m frightened of swans, so I suppose I’m expressing the tension I would feel when freezing her out! I really like the single word on each line thing that F got me enthused about. Mustn’t overdo it… xx<3xx

  • lorriebowden says:

    Oh how I love this! I adore swans and have watched them for hours! ❀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading not sleeping at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

