gale

October 11, 2014 § 12 Comments

 

cornwall April 2011 08

in salt stained air

foam flecks fly from the horse’s mouth –

i

am

impotent

~

Photo courtesy Amanda Clark

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 12 Responses to gale

  • Reblogged this on kinginascent and commented:
    I find that being in the presence of nature has the opposite effect but this is a spare and beautifully realised verse

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thank you for the reblog, and I agree with your comment! But this time round I wanted to try and show it may be possible that the overwhelming power of nature could make one feel powerless – for ‘good’ or ‘bad’.
      I’ve been reading Eliot and Neruda of late; perhaps it shows 🙂

  • F.G.M. says:

    What a constrast and incredible complementarity between the first two lines and the three last ones… I too feel sometimes “I am impotent”… Have a nice musical and colorful “week-end d’automne” dear Rachael :-)♥

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thank you. This was difficult to write down, but I hope I portrayed the sense of helplessness in the face of overwhelming power. Have a good weekend (again :-))

  • pi314chron says:

    I see the last three lines as “intrusive author commentary” to the incomparable first two lines which, in my opinion, stand alone marvelously as a short poem for the ages.

    The juxtaposition of “salt stained air” and “foam flecks” are powerful balancing images that are diminished by the sermonizing afterthought of “I am impotent.”

    Just my $0.02 worth.

    Ron

    P. S. At 73, I’m a little sensitive to the word “impotent” in some of its connotations!

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Aww, bless, Ron. You know I welcome your ‘criticism’ ! I cannot rely on my own judgement as I push the boundaries – so I need you! Keep them coming please 🙂

      Regards
      Rachael xx

  • SirenaTales says:

    Such gorgeous language and imagery, Rachael. I confess that your first inspiring and vivid lines with the stunning image made my spirit soar…and feel startled by your “impotent” conclusion. But then I recalled that feeling, too…standing, teeny tiny, before the astounding and majestic sea….Thank you for your beautiful work. xoxo

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading gale at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

