seed

October 15, 2014 § 23 Comments

 

dandelion

each violent gust

blows more dandelion seeds

into the unknown

~

 

 

 

Image courtesy John Lund/Riser/Getty Images

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 23 Responses to seed

  • pi314chron says:

    Perhaps. Perhaps not. Elegant haiku in any case! 🙂

  • Dan Antion says:

    We love Dandelions 🙂

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Umm, me too. I took some photos you might like of hundreds of them on a bank a few weeks back. A real picture, they were. Pity I couldn’t fit them around the haiku I had in mind. 🙂

  • SirenaTales says:

    Lovely, Rachael. For some reason, I have also been reading this starting with the first line, followed by the last line, finishing with the middle–also cool :). xoxo

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      I like it that way to, Chloe: first, last, then middle (minus ‘blows’). It adds a tension that wasn’t there in my hastily written version! Thank you for your input xxxxx

  • And so our journey through life should be. Great words, Rachael.

  • F.G.M. says:

    Blowing on dendelions… A child’s game we’re still dreaming of… I like the sonority of “unknown” much softer than the french “inconnu” – Do you know that “dendelion” has french roots, it means “dent-de-lion”, lion teeth… the french modern word is awful, pissenlit – and morever, vulgar by the meaning… but your poem is beautiful as ever!

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      I chose ‘unknown’ as it is not a word that ends abruptly. It can whisper on as long as the breath lasts…
      I knew of the modern french (slang?) word; it is much too crude for such a beautiful plant. ‘Dent-de-lion’ I like very much, as it transforms its modern persona into something much more noble and dynamic. Thank you Frederic. xxx

  • beingeternal says:

    Beautiful thought! Love it.

  • NEO says:

    Love it. I have always had a strange liking for dandelions (the wine’s not bad either) 🙂 and that may be it. Bring to mind:

    “Blowing on the Wind”

  • Laine Jensen says:

    Beautiful once more 🙂 FYI – I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award. There is a special tab on my blog for it. I don’t know if you do these or not (my first, probably last time) but I have a link there that will bring readers to your blog.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      My dear Laine, thank you for the honour, which I really do not deserve. There are much more deserving and talented poets than me on this extraordinary platform of WordPress! I did accept the first couple of awards when I started blogging last autumn, but these days I would find it difficult to make a list of so many poets and writers I truly admire and respect that I have not already awarded to! I’m sure they’re out there – I just haven’t found them yet 🙂

      Thank you, my talented friend. I do appreciate you thinking of me xxx

      • Laine Jensen says:

        Your welcome Rachael. I will try most anything once – but honestly this was a lot of work. I created a page so that readers can at least have the opportunity to click on your blog link if curious. Have a good night 🙂

        • Rachael Charmley says:

          You’re right – it is a lot of work, particularly to those such as myself who are not particularly computer literate! I think the awards are a lovely idea for newcomers to help them feel valued and part of the community, and to make them more visible, but I am happy to let my blog grow organically – waxing and waning as it will. Good to have you as part of my community – you are such a gift 🙂

  • Miranda Stone says:

    Ooh, I like the way Chloe is reading this one. I also like to read it as third line, first line, second line. (But then that messes up the classic haiku structure.) A powerful image you’ve painted with your words, Rachael!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading seed at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

