waiting

October 23, 2014 § 20 Comments

Yesterday I went to visit a beautiful house that is soon to go for auction. It’s called River Farm. As I knew I would, I fell in love. The old man who lived there, a well known naturalist, had recently died. The seventeenth century house was run down, the gardens wonderfully unkempt. As I pushed my way through the undergrowth towards the river, a female fallow deer stepped towards me. She had been waiting. She checked my hands, my pockets, my smell – then, certain I was not who she had been waiting for, disappeared into the mist…

shenandoh-foggy-forest_2083_600x450

 

 

Β the old man’s deer waits

on

the

edge

of

the

forest-

tomorrow church bells

~

 

 

Image courtesy Getty Images

Tagged: , , ,

§ 20 Responses to waiting

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading waiting at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

