danger

October 30, 2014 § 8 Comments

20060104_d3e_28547 fb1 fieldmouse leaping over snow 2005dec28_03-38-44(r+mb id@576)

a wild leap

across

the

frozen

stream-

the pike stirs beneath

~

Image courtesy Roy and Marie Battell

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to danger

  • mikesteeden says:

    ‘The pike stirs beneath’ – a book in a sentence. very clever and once more I think even Hemingway would be a tad jealous!

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thank you, Mike. Hmm. Hemingway. If only, if only. But I guess it’s good to aspire…
      Loving your stories. How do you manage to keep on churning them out? Don’t know how you do it…

      • mikesteeden says:

        With Hemingway – currently re-reading – it is more often than not the ‘one line’ that spells out a whole tale. ‘The pike stirs beneath’ pretty much does that for me! As to the posts I’ve been taking weekends off yet am thinking of a break for a week or two shortly for the sake of sanity. The thing is writing is an addictive hobby – a pain when it all dries up though. Am trying to keep it to just 2 hours a day although it takes at least an hour of that to read other blogs! Best of luck.

        • Rachael Charmley says:

          I think I shall read some of his short stories. Read ‘The old Man And The Sea’ in the summer – it doesn’t lose it’s power on being re read; if anything, the opposite. Re blogging, I understand your sentiments. I reached a point where it was turning into a chore and I no longer had time to write other stuff that wasn’t for the blog. Nowadays just blogging 3-4 times a week – when I feel like it – does my stats no good, but makes me feel a whole lot better. Best of luck too 🙂

  • Miranda Stone says:

    Fantastic imagery, Rachael. I love the mingling of safety (the pike safe in the stream) and danger (in the leap the mouse takes).

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Thank you! I wanted to create a kind of visceral tension which contrasted the ethereal almost weightless flight of the mouse with the static, heavy presence of the sleeping predator. It’s sometimes harder to write about a poem than to actually write it!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading danger at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

