purpose

November 13, 2014 § 12 Comments

 

the moon does nothing

but shine

on the still water

~

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 12 Responses to purpose

  • F.G.M. says:

    I’m sure Ryokan would have loved (a translation in japanese of) this very “zen” poem! Beautiful! ♥

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Ah, yes. I have just read some of his poems tonight. The energy of his work is very similar to this one. Thank you, dear friend! ❤

  • Laine Jensen says:

    Shine on, Rachael. 🙂

  • Miranda Stone says:

    And yet what a beautiful sight it is! The simplicity of your poem is perfection, Rachael.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      Ah, thank you, Miranda. I was playing with the idea of will – or rather the absence of it. Things seem to work out much better if we don’t force or push. If we work with the energy that’s there simply enhancing what is, it seems so much easier…
      Something to be said here about the writing process 🙂

  • SirenaTales says:

    Oh, Rachael. I love how you’ve crafted this lovely piece. To me, it spirals: bringing me up short with that counterintuitive first line, and then winding round and round with the realization of the truth, the paradox, the looking for the “wrong” thing…. and the discovery of the way. Brava, my friend. xoxo

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      I really appreciate your interpretation of this, Chloe. You often manage to articulate what I am intuiting as I write. I didn’t see the movement as you do – the winding, spiralling … the dancer in you speaks… xxxx

  • Meanderer says:

    That’s lovely. It put me in mind of a line etched into stone at a favourite stately garden with regard to the adjacent river: “Carries the sun, carries the moon, but keeps nothing”.

    • Rachael Charmley says:

      What a lovely comment, meanderer. I seem to be missing so many of your posts, I do not know why. A wordpress glitch perhaps. It is an inspiring and beautiful blog.

  • Lovely reminder of when shining on the water is all that is needed.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading purpose at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

