Here Be Dragons

April 22, 2016 § 10 Comments

§ 10 Responses to Here Be Dragons

  • NEO says:

    Love it! 🙂

  • I like the imagery, I like the word play, I like that it suggests a short story.

    • Rachael says:

      She’s an inspiring poet and likes to think outside the box. And her tongue is firmly in her cheek (I think) !

      • Poetry is a strange animal when it comes to literature. It is both oral and visual in its story telling. It is also inventive when it comes to word play, perhaps it reason for existence. and it is very intimate for the public gets a glimpse into the poet’s ego.

        • Rachael says:

          I like your comments. It’s a strange thing. I started off as a novelist (failed – ie. unpublished), then produced smaller and smaller works over the years (succeeded ? – ie.published) until I got to the haiku. What I so like about this type of poetry is the unsaid – the meaning in between. As a writer, that is immensely freeing and I can simply play!

          • I wrote two novels, both of which shall never see the light of day. I was too logical in my writing, a habit I had acquired from writing technical material. Essay writing allowed me to back into short fiction. Believe it or not, essays tell stories and the more one writes of them them more story telling becomes important to that art. Suddenly I found I could write short stories that I was not ashamed to post, although all thirty of them are in a very rough draft state. Unfortunately I am in the midst of renovation my house and have very little time for writing unless it is commenting on other people’s blogs. I was doing poetry about twenty years ago but my best is merely mediocre, not exactly an incentive to continue that attempt. But the one thing poetry did do for me was to knock the ego out of my writing. Too many poets take grave exception to critical comments about their precious poems. A good poet must learn to distance himself from his work lest the critics drive him mad. It is one thing to take your writing seriously, it is quite another to become so protective of it that you lose all reason for it’s existence. But what do I know, I’m just an old man…

          • Rachael says:

            I am in agreement with you William. A good poet is a rare thing, and I am certainly not among them, but it is fun and satisfying to try. Good to talk.
            My best
            Rachael

  • This is lovely. Thank you, Rachael.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Here Be Dragons at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

