walking the fen

July 6, 2016 § 6 Comments

img_4046-ponies-on-the-fen-c-duncan-hutt.jpg

 

walking the fen –

tasting the beginnings

of my favourite river

~

Tagged: , ,

§ 6 Responses to walking the fen

  • Perfect! I love fens, although it is progressively more difficult for me to walk them……

    • Rachael says:

      Thanks, Michael. Sorry to hear it gets harder for you to walk the fens. May I be nosy and enquire why. Are they disappearing in your neck of the woods, perhaps?

      • Hi Rachel,

        Well, yes, they are largely endangered here. The larger issue for me is the late effects of Polio, and my not so slowly weakens legs. What was a bit challenging a couple of years ago is now a major project.

        By the way, I lived in Eastern Lincolnshire for a time as a child. I often wonder if that might explain some of my love of fens.

        • Rachael says:

          I understand, Michael, although I have no experience of the long term effects of polio. We carry on as best we can, and try and be better at being human via our challenges, I suppose.

          Interesting that you lived in Lincolnshire. This area can be bleak, but nevertheless has a beauty all of its own. The light is special there. I live in the next county down where it is still flat but in general the landscape is more undulating with gently sloping valleys scoured out by glaciers. It is perhaps a kinder landscape on the eye and spirit, but every place one gets to know intimately has a beauty if we stay still enough to notice it 🙂

          • Yes, each landscape has the possibility of becoming dear. I came to love Lincolnshire in many weathers and aspects. We lived atop a small hill, with the countryside spreading out below us. If memory stands me well, only the southeast of Lincolnshire is fens. Anyway, I have long wanted to visit East Anglican, and the other counties that make up the fens, all so different from Vermont’s mountains and valleys.

          • Rachael says:

            Yes. Vermont is a majestic landscape. Mountains add a dignity…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading walking the fen at Changing Skin and other stories.

meta

